Click Here for November 8, 2022 General Municipal Election Information

Poway is a General Law city governed by a 5-member City Council. A Mayor and four members of the City Council are elected to serve 4-year terms. In 2020, the City completed the transition to by-district elections for the four City Council seats. The Mayor continues to be elected on a citywide basis. Poway consolidates its General Municipal Elections with the Statewide General Elections held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November of even-numbered years. View Council Districts Map

District Elections

The City initiated a transition to by-district elections for the four City Council seats in 2017 and fully transitioned to by-district elections beginning with the November 2020 General Election. Following the 2020 Census, the City followed the State required process to re-evaluate the four City Council districts to ensure the districts comply with all state and federal requirements. On February 1, 2022, the City Council unanimously adopted a new district map (PDF) that maintains the previously adopted City Council district boundaries. You can find the District you live in here.

Political Sign Regulations

Campaign Finance Regulations

Effective January 1, 2021, all campaign statements filed in the City Clerk's Office will be made available online. Click here to search Campaign Finance Statements filed on or after January 1, 2021. For all other statements, please contact the City Clerk's Office via email cityclerk@poway.org or by phone (858) 668-4530.

Additional Information